Thai dragon chilis

I’m not the best with really hot things – Peter’s more of a fan of spice than I am – but I do love me some chili plants. I think they may be one of the prettiest edible plants, with their glossy, rich green leaves, delicate star shaped flowers, and of course the changing colour of their beautiful fruit. We had two pots of chilis last summer that we used as ceremony decorations at our wedding, but we neglected to save any seed from them before the winter hit, and then forgot to test the seeds’ germination rate in the spring anyway, so we ended up just picking up some plants at Fiesta Garden – plus, at less than $2 for four plants, it’s a pretty good deal, regardless.

According to Wikipedia (not the most reliable source of information, I know), Thai dragon chilis are a variety of bird’s eye chili, so they should be super hot. It looks like they’re going to end up being a nice complement to our Vietnamese herb garden, and a welcome addition to our nuoc cham. Now we just have to get some more potting mix (drink!) and these guys can go in their permanent home.

This entry was posted in Planting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment